The Importance of Rituals

I recently shared with you my morning routine. It is one of my favourite rituals and it actually works for me because I see it as a sacred space and time, in which I honour and nurture my body, mind and spirit.

However, I also told you how I used to struggle to get out of bed and make a morning routine plan work. I used to struggle because I did not love the plan I was designing for me each morning. I was trying to follow what other people would recommend as part of an active and healthy morning routine (e.g. go jogging super early in the morning) and not listening at all to what my inner self had to say about it.

Thus there had to be some background work before I reach the point of successfully sticking to a morning routine. I had to dive deep within myself and listen to my body, mind and spirit needs. As soon as I did this exercise, it became clear why I was not being successful with maintaining an active and healthy morning routine.

After knowing how my body, mind and spirit would really like to start the day, I noticed the importance of translating that ideal into a ritual. I wrote down the activities I would perform in my ‘ideal morning’ and broke them into small and basic steps that I would then follow every time I would wake up.

So this is how my morning routine ritual looks like:

  1. wake up gently, preferably without setting an alarm
  2. stretch and expand my body, using all the space I can in bed
  3. change from my pyjama to my yoga pants
  4. wash my face and teeth
  5. drink warm water with lemon
  6. put on my youtube yoga class
  7. prepare a delicious breakfast
  8. start adulting

I find it much easier to keep this routine if I respect and follow these steps. I actually enjoy and feel the need of performing this ritual every single morning. There is no more struggling with getting out of bed and starting the day ahead.

Psychologically, this is possible because repetition is one of the best friends of assimilation and assimilation makes forming healthier habits easier as well. Thus, no matter what time or mood I get up with, I simply embrace my ritual and fall into the virtual sacred space and time that I created for myself. In there, I find the strength to go out and simply rock’n’roll a brand new day.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Great stuff Vanessa, thanks for sharing! 🙂

    It’s great that you’re forming healthy habits and trying to start your day off productively, as you mean to go on. Habit forming can be difficult and it’s important to review our progress and goals to check that they are still aligned with us, as you have done so.

    If people are doing something for the wrong reasons or they’re not sure of the reasons, it won’t stick. For example, if someone wanted to start going to yoga 3 times a week, they need to remind themselves why and this reason could be to get more flexible or to calm their mind more.

    Loving the content, keep doing what you’re doing 🙂

    PS – On a related note, I’m on the hunt for feedback for my new show The HERO Podcast! It’s all about creating healthy habit. The episode with Derek Doepker may be of interest to you where he discusses how to make lasting changes. You can check it out (and maybe leave a short review if you like) here: http://apple.co/2kjNoGN

    Like

    1. Vanessa Dias says:

      Dear Luke,

      don’t know how I missed your comment! So sorry!

      Thank you so much for your kind words and insights, I completely agree with you, 100%. I am going to have a look at your podcast asap, and let your know my thoughts. For what I already saw in your website, you’re doing a very inspirational job! Thank you for doing such a great work 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No worries! Thank you, that’s really nice of you to say, I look forward to your feedback 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

